English · Sophie · Stories

Empty Kitty Bag

Sophie has been sick for a while. I thought her body had recently been taken over by an alien. She was floundering on the floor, foaming at the mouth. I was quite scared. Missy and Bossy put her in the kitty bag and brought her to the vet clinic. The next day Sophie returned home. She was very quiet, and I was afraid to ask her what was going on. After ignoring me for a while, she asked if I knew what had happened to her. I told what I had seen [Return of the Alien].
“Oh, how creepy! I hope that creature won’t return, Don,” she meowed. The next days she had several small attacks a day. I don’t know if the creature tried to take posession of her body again or if it was a response to the previous major attack.
Missy took her to the vet clinic again. There she received a medicine against the attacks. She seemed to be doing a little better in the days that followed. She started talking again and dragging toys. Until the foaming at the mouth started again … not as bad this time, but still. The vet advised to give a slightly higher dose of the drug. Initially that caught on. A few days ago I noticed that things were not going well. She seemed to be winking, having some kind of nerve. Missy also noticed it and stayed with her until she calmed down. The next morning, Bossy couldn’t find her. By the time Missy was in the attic, Sophie had emerged. But was it Sophie? The little creature that sat there foaming hissed and growled at everyone who came close. The alien had probably taken possession of Sophie’s body again. Now it was not going to be chased away. Missy and Bossy put the creature in the kitty bag and brought it to the veterinary clinic.
Some time later, they returned with the kitty bag. There was a cloth in the kitty bag. Nobody was on that cloth. Missy was inconsolable, Bossy too, but he didn’t show it. They tried to explain to me what had happened. That the alien had been expelled from Sophie, but that Sophie couldn’t return to her body anymore. I don’t fully understand it. I still smell Sophie but don’t see her. If I leave my food, it’s still there after a while. If I sit on Missy’s or Bossy’s lap Sophie doesn’t hiss me away. Sophie and I have always been together. It is strange to be the only kitty living here. Maybe I’ll understand later why Sophie didn’t return.

Rest in Peace, sweet Sophie
August 2006 – March 25 2020

Leave a comment